Welcome to my Struggle-

My previous post described how I begin a new painting, here what’s next-

 

hat-blog1

At this point I can learn a lot from my painting if I ask the right questions.

Is the eye path or movement the way I had envisioned? Is there anything distracting from the flow?

-I can see that the dark area at the bottom is way too overpowering for the top area. Seem like it’s weighing the painting down. I need to lift things upward.
-The girl blends with the background too much, more contrast needed there.
-The dark hat is not interesting enough. It commands  attention way up there at the top, but just doesn’t deserve it. There’s a need for more color intensity or dynamic shape, or a pattern…all viable  options…
hat4lr
Getting closer… I even signed it, but things are still not right. At times like this I go to my computer desktop.
During the week I go to Pinterest, grab onto inspirational paintings that I admire and put them on my desktop to study throughout the week. Taking an image of my painting and shuffling it in amongst the others usually will make a painting in need scream out for help. See below –
Screen Shot 2014-11-02 at 12.06.44 PM
There’s mine in the middle, it is becoming more obvious that –
1. The contrast in the upper areas is too weak
2. Her hand, in that position is not working, interrupting that upwards flow
3. The top of her leg is too light, fracturing the upper body from the lower
some other minor things and…
hat5lr
After the changes, I think this is an improvement.

 

Leave a Reply

