30 Paintings in 30 Days, day 2 and 3

On the second day of the challenge I was already feeling the time crunch. I usually don’t paint every day, so it was becoming very obvious something was going to have to give. I talked to John, my understanding husband and told him the house was going to  show my lack of attention this month, being the helpful and supportive husband he is, he said “no problem just let me know what needs to be done”, have I mentioned how lucky I am?

Anyway painting number two was from a vacation we took to Oregon several years ago. I was amazed by the green, green, green everywhere, and that might be why I haven’t painted this photo until now. Green has the tendency to go inky in the shadows and washed out or too acid in the lights. I chose to use Cad. Orange, Cad. Red light, Permanent Green light and Cobalt Blue. Keeping green in almost every mixture helped me to keep a solid color harmony.

OregonSpringlr2

Painting three was from a vacation to Seattle. If Oregon had lots of green, Seattle had lots of water. This was taken at sunset against the setting sun. The painting was very much about muted tones and texture. I chose Yellow Ochre, Raw Sienna, Cobalt Blue and Black. My goal was to keep the lights from getting chalky, and work with clean simple brush work. These images are also on my Daily Paintworks Gallery .

FirstTideLR2

2 thoughts on “30 Paintings in 30 Days, day 2 and 3”

Leave a Reply

