30 Paintings in 30 Days, day 4

This has happened with the previous three paintings; after several hours into the painting, I get a very clear vision of the subtle nuances in the subject, things that need to be rendered with deft brushwork and careful value adjustments, unfortunately it’s also the point when I’m getting tired, want to rush things and get sloppy – when I pick up the brush and think, this thing really needs to be cleaned but I use it anyway.

This is the supreme exercise for me, to stand back, take a deep breath and concentrate on the task at hand.

I was telling my husband about this phenomenon and he said, yeah like when you take a road trip, the first five hours on the highway is no problem but it’s when you near the destination and you’re getting tired you have to slow down watch the city traffic, find addresses etc……exactly!

I thought about several options for a color palette. A monotone using Terra Rosa, a two color palette of Burnt Sienna and Ultramarine Blue, but I decided on Cad. Orange, Cad. Red Deep, Cobalt Blue and Ivory black. Here’s the block in-

IMG_0967And the final painting-

WhiteVeilFinalLR2

 

Leave a Reply

