30 Paintings in 30 Days, day 6

And I thought today was going to be the easy day. The image for today was a high contrast picture of a young woman with thick black hair. I rendered this subject in a monotone of Indian Red and White. I’ve always liked using Indian Red because the lightest value is a pink, not to cold, it’s darkest, right out of the tube value is a rich decadent brown red.

After I roughed in the obvious, darkest darks, lightest lights and midtones I could see getting those in between shades was going to be the most important. Like writing music, one note to high would shatter the melody, too many high notes would weaken the harmony. I felt like I was walking a tight rope, keeping balance, not veering too far to one side or the other. To keep the darks really rich I had to keep any hint of opaque lighter tones exactly where they were intended. The easy day……not today!

DreamingLR2Take a look at the other Artist’s work that are involved with the Challenge

 

Leave a Reply

