30 Paintings in 30 days, days 8 and 9

Before I began the challenge all my subjects for the paintings were picked out. They were also put in random order, so that I wouldn’t know what the days’ image would be until I started for that day.

When I saw this photo I said *&%$!! under my breath. It’s not that I don’t love the subject of the ballet dancers, but five figures on a 8″x8″ panel, what was I thinking? This was the biggest challenge to date.

PracticeLR2

I wanted to keep them loose but they had to accurate, so it was about the drawing, the drawing, the drawing. This reminded me of when I used to teach, inevitably someone would say “I don’t want to learn to draw, just paint”, painting is all about drawing, it’s drawing with paint. I used Yellow Ochre, Cad Red Deep, Viridian, Cobalt Blue and Ivory Black.

HeadingHomeLR2

This quiet scene was day nine. John and I went to an Indian reservation in Santa Fe a couple of years ago. This scene of a horseman trotting down the dirt road had such a relaxed feeling about it, that’s what I tried to capture. I used Cad. Yellow Deep, Permanent Green, Cobalt Blue and Transparent Brown Oxide.

Leave a Reply

