30 Paintings in 30 Days, days 10 and 11

Day 10’s painting, No Dogs Allowed , is from a trip my husband John and I took to Santa Fe, New Mexico. We saw many great galleries while there, as well as a terrific Flamenco dance show.

One day while we were there, we visited the Indian reservation. We were told when entering “do not touch the dogs”, some were family pets while many were wild, it was hard because they were everywhere and I just wanted to lean down and scratch one on the head. NoDogsLR2This guy was outside of an adobe building where the owners had dinner cooking, he so wanted to go inside!

I used Yellow Ochre, Cad Yellow Deep, Cerulean Blue, Cobalt Blue, Ivory Black and Thalo Green, which I also call atomic green!  I don’t usually use this color because it is so extremely dark and cold out of the tube, when mixed with white, a totally intense bluish-green, which is what I used it for in the smallest amount with the Cerulean Blue for the trim around the door.

InTheShadowsLR2

Today’s painting, In the Shadows , was a scene we saw on the same day. It was the middle of July and blazing hot. I was taken by the interesting shapes in all the shadows here but also taken by a place to get out of the sun. The clever guides that walked along with us all had umbrellas.

This painting really made it clear to me that I am making some great strides in my work while involved in the challenge. Previous to this, I would never choose to paint an architectural subject. A multitude of angles, going in different directions has always been very difficult for me. I am learning to be more observant and  look to the negative shapes for the information I need. I used the same palette as the painting above but traded Cad Yellow Deep for Cad Lemon in order to take some of the orange tones out of the lights.

 

Leave a Reply

