30 Paintings in 30 Days, days 26 and 27

Three more days, it has been the best of times and the worst of times, but I will be relieved to finally be finished.

WineLR

Yesterday, Monday, was the first day I didn’t know if I would finish my painting. Tuesdays are an extra busy day because John and I do our volunteer work to clean out the cat adoption cages at Petsmart. It’s also the day I take classes at the gym, so my painting “Wine?”came to a conclusion about 7;30 pm, luckily John stepped in and picked up dinner at El Pollo Loco. Everything being in muted indoor light, this was another study in subtle color relationships.

BoutiqueLR

Today’s painting “Bridal Boutique” yet another study in subtle color relationships, I’m starting to see a pattern here. While walking around Tivoli Village, an upscale shopping area here in Las Vegas, I saw this Bridal store. As the sun shimmered in the window it was stunning to see the light play on the satin fabric.

Color relationships is not the only pattern I’m seeing in my work. To someone who hasn’t experienced painting before, it might seem that an artist starts a painting than methodically works calmly to the end. Maybe some may actually work like this, but my journey is more like the bottom illustration.Screen Shot 2015-01-27 at 7.17.46 AMI begin, than an uphill struggle, a small platform of ease, than another uphill struggle etc. until the giant valley at the top, where I do not know if it can be solved… helped… or saved. If the giant valley can be crossed, the painting is a downhill path with small stops until the end. There really isn’t such a thing as an easy painting.

 

One thought on “30 Paintings in 30 Days, days 26 and 27”

Leave a Reply

