The Results of 30/30

30 Paintings in 30 Days by Diane Eugster
30 Paintings in 30 Days by Diane Eugster

The image above is a college of the paintings I completed in January as a result of the 30 Paintings in 30 Days Challenge.

This experience taught me many things I truly believe I would not have learned otherwise. You could say it was a microcosm of how I work, the Cliffsnotes, the Reader’s Digest version.

Going through a beginning, a middle, and end each day, I began to see how I work a painting. Otherwise a painting may take 1 or 2 weeks, things happen so incrementally that I haven’t seen the patterns. I can compare it to watching a time-lapse of myself painting 30 paintings. Isn’t that what athletes do, watch video after video of themselves to determine what they are doing wrong, or right?

My first discovery was how much self-doubt I had while working. It took me about 2 weeks to put my finger on it. Nagging, whispering “you can’t do it”, “why did you do that?” “you’re just not good enough”, all the while holding me back and squelching my creativity. When I finally put a name to it I was ready to fight back.

I’ve never been one for mantra’s …yes you can… yes you can…, but I stopped and looked around, 14 times I did do it, 14 times I figured it out. Having the visual right in front of my face, I began to believe I really could.

This year I am going to make it a goal to put visuals on my studio wall of things I accomplish, got in a show, my work singled out, and not just accomplishments that involve other people’s opinions of me but ones where I achieved a step forward personally in my painting. We are so quick to dwell on the negative things that happen with our work and push away, too easily, all of the positives that we’ve accomplished.

The college at the top of the page was made through an awesome, free, website called PicMonkey. They even have Facebook templates so that you can create a college to fit your banner.

5 thoughts on “The Results of 30/30”

  1. Great post! I am still trying to get over these negative patterns/habits I have that I KNOW hold me back (maybe someday…)! Your work is both stunning and inspiring! Will be following! 🙂

    Like

  2. Diane, your work is beautiful. I love your choice of color palette. I learned a lot by viewing your paintings over the last 30 days and reading your comments as well! Thanks for doing this! Marian

    Like

Leave a Reply

