Testing the 50mm lens on the Landscape

Last week I did more research online to find out if the 50mm lens was useful for more than just shooting indoors with low light.  I found out that it also has some great advantages for outdoor landscape photos.

To wrap my head around this I practiced in my backyard.

50ForLandscape

For both of these photos I stood in exactly the same location, ISO 100, shutter priority mode 125. In both I focused on the low tree in the middle.

The one with the zoom lens (that came with the camera) is flatter, has duller color and shadows. The 50mm lens photo doesn’t take in as wide an image, but has much more life to it.

The sun is shinning, the sky is clear and I’m ready to take my new 50mm 1.4 lens out to Red Rock and see how it performs. John and I got on our hiking boots , got in the truck and headed for the mountains.

blogRR1

Our desert can be rather dry and flat, but hike 10 minutes up a trail and the beauty starts to unfold.

IMG_3372

I like the way the 50mm allows focusing on a near object, while softening the background, more like I see things with my own eyes.

 

IMG_3344

This photo, focusing in the distance, allowed the foreground to soften. Next week another trail….

One thought on “Testing the 50mm lens on the Landscape”

Leave a Reply

