Spending 50% Of My Time On 25% of the Painting

OakCreekTrail
Oak Creek Trail 1 by Diane Eugster

 

The more I paint the more I realize the need to be selective within each painting. It’s back to the center of interest discussion, to have one or not to have one? For me, there needs to be a focus.

In Las Vegas we have a multitude of Cirque du Soleil shows. They are the epitome of visual stimulation, with performers riding oversized contraptions on stage while others do unnatural contortions, all the while costumed acrobats zoom overhead sparkling and glowing. I love these shows but they’re also exhausting. Some painting are like that, they scream “look here”, “no look here”, “hey – over here”. When it come to painting I think all parts suffer when there isn’t one thing special to lead the eye.

Screen Shot 2015-03-18 at 8.47.56 AM
The Sharp Eye, an article by Laura Robb

 

In an article titled “A Sharp Eye”  byArtist Laura Robb she explains how she begins her paintings with a rectangle around the focal area, to remind herself to keep the focus there.

The best way I’ve found to keep this in check is by spending 50% of my time on that special 25% of the painting. I’m not talking about detailing; that three haired brush, hard edged, labored place that no painting should go, but getting to the heart of the subject, by asking, what is it about this scene that made me want to paint it. Slowing down to finesse it, exaggerate if need be to make the point. Make that glass really sparkle, that rock really rugged or those lips really luscious.

4 thoughts on “Spending 50% Of My Time On 25% of the Painting”

  1. Great post! I’m continually pushing my focus, sometimes successfully, sometimes not…. However I may try this little technique in my under painting to remind me! Thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

