That was Then

This is a subject I find myself revisiting many times over the years. Why? That is the million dollar question that the success of the entire painting hinges on. Reflecting on the right answer is definitely worth the time.

Some of the wrong answers might be;

  • Because it’s a “pretty” subject
  • I heard that western art is selling right now
  • My friends think this would be a good subject for me
  • I like the colors

My answers; (this is a person thing, it could go in many directions)

  • This reminds me of the wide open, arid landscape of the southwest
  • Honesty and integrity
  • Relaxed, sans-tension
  • A simpler time

The problem is how to express these things in paint.

I decided to divide the canvas into a graphic representation of the earth and sky with three horizontal zones. To keep the triangle composition, (which says honesty and integrity), I let the background dry completely before starting the figure.

The expression on her face was very important, not what she looked like, but what she seemed like. The face set the mood for everything that followed so I worked down from there.

I used a primary palette of Ultramarine Blue, Alizarin Crimson, Hansa Yellow and White, I find mixing the paint with Oleopasto gel gives it the body for textural effects as well as spreadability without getting too liquid. Using as few values as possible with an eye on interesting shapes, I work down the jacket, Knowing I’ll be going back for a second pass of texture and some details later.

At this point when everything is laid in, is the most important of all. Moving from the top down I start assessing everything for possible things that could hold the painting back from its full potential. I’m not looking for how the subject differs from the original reference image, because I have changed a lot of things for the good of the painting while working through this. What I’m looking for are errors in perspective, tangents, design choices that went astray, colors that are not harmonious with the whole. And is there anything working against my original intent.

  • The perspective on her head as it hits the hat is incorrect, it needs to be more rounded.
  • The value of her nose is a little too dark.
  • The glove on her knee needs a shadow to give it some weight.
  • Rework the flow of the skirt, not moving the way I want it to.

The finished painting “That was Then”

2 Replies to “That was Then”

Leave a comment